Askrigg Show 2005

a little history of the show / Askrigg Village Show Schedule

Askrigg and District Produce Association Show 29th August 2005

Could these white hollyhocks be a winner?

It was an absolutely glorious Bank Holiday Monday.
From 9.30 am onwards people poured into the village hall with their exhibits.

Final touches.

Ready for the opening.

There was a special presentation of potted orchids this year by the chairman David Jackson
to the three volunteer tellers Mary Alderson, Pauline Teasdale and Magaret Thompstone
who were retiring after, in some cases three decades working for the show.
There work has been much appreciated.

At 3pm Dr and Mrs Christopher Cole from Bainbridge
opened the 64th Annual Askrigg and District Produce Show.


  • Liz Allen – won the Hartley Cup for the Floral Art section for the second year in a row and the Ella Metcalfe Memorial Trophy for best exhibit in the floral section.
  • Lucy Allen (nearly two) entered eggs from her chickens and won the Egg cup.

  • Hazel Peacock – the Craythorne Rose Bowl for Horticulture and the Silver Rose Bowl for roses

  • Annie Bennett – the Shackleton cup for vegetables and the Bainbridge Trophy for most points in all classes

  • Brian Kershaw – Won the Woodmas Rose Bowl for photography. This was Brian’s first time exhibiting in the show.
  • Lynne Alderson, Zoe Whitby and Brian Kershaw were joint winners of the Yoredale cup for computer generated images.
  • Anne Ball and Eleanor Scarr joint winners of the Hopper cup for preserves
  • Diana Smith –the Widdows cup for home made tipples
  • Anne Bell – the Miller cup for home cookery
  • Barbara Thwaite the Craven Award for handicraft
  • Peter Thompson – the Ingilby Trophy for art
  • Ben Fawcett – Kings Award for Boys – primary school classes

  • Stella Whitten – Kings award for girls – primary school classes

  • Bridie Sheehan – The Manning Trophy for 11 to 16 year olds
  • Ben Fawcett the Susan Baker memorial Trophy for the best entry in the show

  • Sian Whitby the Askrigg trophy for highest scoring “guest” child
  • Ian Baggueley – Certificate for the Highest scoring adult visitor.
  • Craig Hunt – Pre-school prize.

Superb afternoon teas were had by all. Then the raffle was drawn with the usual generous number of prizes.

There was an auction at the end of the show
to sell any produce left, to boost show funds.

Help and Acknowledgements

If you are able to help in the running of the Produce Show, please contact one of the organising committee. Setting up the tables prior to the show, and dismantling afterwards, are particularly time-consuming tasks.

The organisers would like to thank those businesses that have advertised in the schedule to help offset our costs.

If you have any suggestions for new or altered classes for the 2006 show please pass them on to the committee.

  • Chairman: David Jackson
  • Secretary: Liz Iredale
  • Treasurer: Margaret Dawson

For more information contact the Chairman on 01969 650483

a little history of the show

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Dales